Sati: Yoga & Philosophy

My Aspiration

Welcome Friends

As you can see, I’ve got a new website, blog, email address, and newsletter. My impending relocation to Asia has catalyzed all these communication changes which has been a fun and exciting project. It has forced me to examine how to convey my teaching approach, beliefs and aspirations to an audience that has never met or studied with me before. What I found was that 10 years of Yoga practice and 7 years of teaching has led me knee-deep in love with the Hindu-Buddhist dialogue. It is this that will largely influence my teaching practice in the coming years. My move to one of the most vibrant centers of Tibetan Buddhist culture in the world—Kathmandu, Nepal (and the neighborhood of Boudha in particular) will allow me to indulge my studies further. In just the Kathmandu Valley itself, the interplay between these cultures has been going on for centuries in so much that when I asked many Nepalese what faith they practiced they often responded with, “Hinduism that combines some Buddhism.”

Buddhist stupas and Hindu temples are steps from each other and the diverse melody of prayers share the same the air. Being a devoted practitioner of Ashtanga Yoga, a lover of Advaita Vedanta and a student of Tibetan Buddhism, it has been compelling for me to see a new brand of scholarship that harnesses these traditions along with modern psychology in the work of Michael Stone, Eddie Stern, Richard Freeman, and John Campbell. But that lineup forces me to ask—Where are the ladies? I would also love to explore how the feminine essence can add its perspective to these historically male-dominated traditions. With the Western World taking part in this work in an unprecedented way and with the facility of global communication at our fingertips, I think positive karmic ripples could reach a vast and wide audience.

One of my larger aspirations is to host a series of retreats and educational intensives in Nepal that brings Buddhist scholars and Yogis together to educate, inspire, explore, and connect. As this starts to evolve, I will be sharing more information on my website. If you want to contribute to this work or are seriously committed to attending a future event, please contact me. I would love to hear from you.

In the meantime, I’ve got a lot of work to do. I look forward to sharing the journey.

Love

Satila

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2011 by .

Navigation

